Book Review – Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons

16249

 

Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author Lorna Landvik
Ballantine Reader’s Circle
Published February 2004
417 Pages

Follow the joys and heartbreaks of five friends in Minnesota and their wacky bookclub called Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons. There is Faith the organized one who is hiding a secret; Audrey the voluptuous one whose life changes the most; Widowed Kari who thinks life is pretty much over until she’s thrown a curve; Merit, the pretty one who lives with an abusive husband and Slip who is always supporting a cause.

The book spands over three decades and gives you a nostalgic look at the 70’s, 80’s and 90’s. There’s over thirty-four books mentioned and I have read only two. Now I have a new reading list to add to my already long to-be-read list. The author does an excellent job of characterization as each of her characters grow.

Which woman do I see myself in? I actually saw a little bit of myself in all the women, but I have to say Merit is the one I most identify with because of the abusive relationship she experienced.

The book probably appeals more to the 50+ group. I’d like to see a sequel: Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons: The Golden Years.

This edition included questions and answers to the author and a reading group guide.

Follow this link to see all the books mentioned in Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons: https://www.goodreads.com/list/show/69602.

Other books by Lorna Landvik:
Mayor of the Universe
Patty Jane’s House of Curl
Oh My Stars
Tis the Season!: A Novel
The Tall Pine Polka
Welcome to the Great Mysterious
Your Oasis on Flame Lake
The View from Mount Joy: A Novel

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons

  1. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it
    was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had
    written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any tips and hints for newbie
    blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

