Children’s Picture Books

download

I’m sitting at my laptop,sipping my peppermint hot chocolate and thinking about how lucky I was as a child to have a mother and grandmother who read to me when I was young. I know that contributed to my love for books. I remember Pokey Little Puppy and my favorite, Madeline. If you want your child to love books, read to them. If they ask you to read it again and again and again, do it because that’s how they learn. Below is a list of some of my favorite great books for starters:

Goodnight Moon
Chicka Chicka Boom Boom
Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey
Finders Keepers
Madeline’s Rescue
Cinderella, or the Little Glass Slipper by Marcia Brown
A Tree Is Nice , illustrated by Marc Simont; text: Janice Udry
The Polar Express
Tuesday
Angelina, and Angelina Ballerina
Dr. Suess books
Brown Bear, Brown Bear
Eric Carle books

hungry caterpillar

 

Caldecott Medal goes each year to a picture book for children. You can find a list of these winners
here.

For Parents:
The Read Aloud Handbook
Reading Magic: Why Reading Aloud to Our Children Will Change Their Lives Forever

Also here’s a link to an interesting article on picture books: PICTURE BOOKS ARE NOT JUST FOR CHILDREN: 10 REASONS WHY

Leave a Reply

