Top Ten All Time Favorite Books in Mystery Series Genre

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly link-up in the community where The Broke and the Bookish provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in on it with their own top ten list.  This week the list is the top ten favorite books in a genre.  I read alot of mystery series so I have chosen the top ten of them:

147994

10. Joan Hess – Claire Malloy Mysteries
I started this series way back. I think my 28 year old daughter was just a baby. Claire Malloy owns a bookstore in a college town and she is very adept at solving murders with a little humor added. My favorite book in the series is #6: Roll Over and Play Dead. There are 19 books in the series so far.

44783

9. P.J. Tracy – Monkeewrench Mysteries
P.J. Tracy is the pseudonym of the mother-daughter writing team of Patricia Lambrecht and Traci Lambrecht. Winners of the Anthony, Barry, Gumshoe and Minnesota Book Awards. The books main characters are a team of computer whizes  known as Monkeewrench who work  with a group of Minnesota law enforcement. There are 6 books in the series and I think my favorite is the first one Monkeewrench.

626065

8. Rhys Bowen – Molly Murphy series
This series is about Molly Murphy who escapes from Ireland to New York City at the turn of the century. To support herself, Molly becomes a private detective. There are 13 books in this series and my favorite is #4: In Like Flynn.

188230    157857

7. Elizabeth Peters – Amelia Peabody Mysteries
This series is the story of Victorian archaeologist Amelia Peabody. I love this series because you learn so much about Egypt and archeology. Peters does it with a significant amount of humor. Sadly Peters died in August of 2013. Its really hard to pick a favorite in this series that has 19 books. The first one Crocodile on the Sandbank is definitely a pick, but I also favor The Snake The Crocodile and the Dog

123598

6. Patricia Cornwell – Kay Scarpetta series
I remember when I read my first Kay Scarpetta book. I was fascinated by all the new forensic
techniques. I’ve read about half of the 21 books. My favorite is Black Notice.

351649

5. Laura Lippman – Tess Monaghan series
I bought her first books because I was planning a trip to Baltimore where the series takes place. Fell in love with Lippman’s writing. Lippman has written 11 Tess Monaghan books. My favorite is The Sugar House.

6423

4. Janet Evanovich – Stephanie Plum series
I don’t read this for the mystery, which is always good, but I read it more for the laughs.
Evanovitch always has me in stitches, you know, ROFL. Her characters are so colorful. There are 21 books in this series. I’m behind I’ve only read 14. My favorite one is High Five.

257990     64854

3. Sue Grafton – Kinsey Millhone Mystery
This is the one with the alphabet. There’s 23 of these books so far. I’ve read 21. My favorites are G is for Gumshoe and M is for Malice.

271300    398477

2. Dana Stabenow – Kate Shugak series
I love this series about Kate Shugak. There are some pretty colorful characters in this series, too. It take place in the Alaskan Wilderness. Kate, an Aluet, lives alone with her half dog, half wolf. I learned so much about Alaska including it’s history from these 20 books. My favorites were Killing Ground and Hunter’s Moon.

31391

1. Elizabeth George – Inspector Lynley series
There are 18 books in this series that takes place in the United Kingdom. The main characters are Scotland Yard Inspector Thomas Lynley, the eighth earl of Asherton and his partner Sergeant Barbara Havers.  Reading about the culture and climate of the United Kingdom is an asset, but the real strength comes in the way George enters the psychology of the mind of each of its players. You end up feeling for each one including the villians. For the Sake of Elena is my favorite

Leave a Reply

