Top Ten of the Most Unique Books I’ve Read

 

toptentuesday

 

It’s Top Ten Tuesday Again. This week the folks at The Broke and the Bookish ask that we list the Top Ten of the Most Unique Books I’ve Read. So here are mine, in no particular order:

1. Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll. I didn’t read this  as a child. I read it in my thirty’s. I feel in love with the language. I don’t think I’ve found a book yet that can compare with Carroll’s use of words.

2. The New Living Translation Bible – This is unique in that it was written so long ago yet can address current issues. Plus, it has everything: war, miracles, romance, rape, bringing the dead back to life, etc. I picked this translation because it’s written more like we speak today.

3. Salem’s Lot by Stephen King – this is my one and only book read by Stephen King and I read it while I was pregnant. It was the only book I could focus on.

4. Book Lust: Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason by Nancy Pearl. I was so happy that they made a book about books and I could find more books to read.

5. The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand. This opened my eyes to see how the world really works. Someday I hope to read Atlas Shrugged.

6. Baja, Oklahoma – A quirky book I read in early 80’s. I loved it. Can’t think of any book I’ve found like it since then.

7. Drop City by T. C. Boyle. I bought this book because I’d never seen a circle of naked people on the cover of a literary fiction book before. It’s a wonderful story about a commune that moves to Alaska.

8. Daughter of Fortune by Isabelle Allende. Her books are amazing. This one  takes place during the Gold Rush of 1849 and is about the orphan Eliza Sommers as she ages. When Allende writes she paints her prose and like most of her books this one also adds a form of mysticism to it.

9. Howe’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. I first saw this as a movie then read the book, and yes, the book was better. It’s a fantasy about the oldest of three sisters who comes under a spell of a wicked witch that turns her into an old lady. Her only hope is the ever moving Howe’s castle.

10. In the Garden of Iden by Kage Baker. This is the first in a science fiction series where the company recruits orphans from the past, trains them, makes them everything but immortal and sends them back in time.

Leave a Reply

