Tales from OZ – Book Review

oz

 

Tales from OZ
Dan Wickline, Joe Brusha, Meredith Finch
Publication Date: April 29, 201
160 pages
Graphic novel

♥♥♥♥

Description from Goodreads

Now, the most infamous Oz characters appear in Zenescope’s intense, dark, and daring re-imagining of the Oz mythos. The mesmerizing and often times frightening origins of the Tin Man, The Scarecrow, Thane the Lion, and a wolf named Toto are collected together in this epic trade paperback.

My thoughts

I’ve been wanting to expand my genres to include graphic novels. This is the first graphic novel I have read. Of course the artwork is fantastic. The characters were bigger than life. It’s separated into four short stories and explains how each of them became what they were. I wonder though are all the bodies of women in graphic novels shaped like nymphs?

I thought the plot lines for each story were carefully planned. The dialogue could have been a little better, but at least I don’t remember them using any foul language. That’s good.
I liked the tinman the best because it had a romantic element to it. The Scarecrow was the most graphic.

The novel also included an exclusive sneak preview of Oz:Volume One.
I received a complimentary copy from Zenescope through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

