Top Ten Books I Almost Put Down

toptentuesday

Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday list for Ten Books I Almost Put Down. Do you have any of these on your list? For more confessions go to The Broke and the Bookish.

1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I know that’s hard to believe but sorry Austen fans I found Pride and Prejudice utterly boring and had to force myself to finish it.

2. The Distant Hours by Kate  Morton.  I was ready to give up on it but almost half way through I got into it and it’s probably one of my favorites.

3. Stardust by Neil Gaiman.  Saw the movie and loved it and they say the book is always better but it wasn’t in this case. Very disappointed in Neil Gaiman.

4. Wool by Hugh Howey.  Heard a lot of good things about this novel. Even though it was short I still had trouble finishing it.

5. The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom.  When I started it I thought it was predictable, but I was wrong and I’m glad I kept reading. One of the best books I read in 2013.

6. Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder by  Joanne Fluke. It was kind of boring but I stuck with it.

7. Heresy by S.J. Parris. 98 percent of the characters were men, so that put me off at first, but I stuck with it because it was a book club choice and I’m glad I did.  One of the best written historical mysteries I have ever read.

8. Prime Cut by Diane Mott Davidson. I started this book about three times before I finally finished it.

9. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. I wasn’t even going to pick this one up, let alone put it down because I heard horrible opinions on it.  But I couldn’t not finish the series so I read it and loved it.   Probably my favorite of the three.

10. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  Picked this one up in my late twenties and couldn’t get into it.  Two years ago I picked it up again and got into it. Awesome book.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Almost Put Down

  1. No book is for everyone, right? I feel the same way about some of Austen’s other books like you feel about Pride & Prejudice. Austen’s quiet, but snarky sense of humor makes me chuckle in P&P, though.

Leave a Reply

