Christine Pisera Naman – Author of Nine Days

cymachats

I’m so very happy to have as our guest Christine Pisera Naman author of the book Nine Days. Christine is a writer and a stay-at-home mom in Monroeville, Pennsylvania, where she lives with her husband and three Children. She is also the author of The Believers, Faces of Hope, Caterpillar Kisses, and Christmas Lights.

Welcome Christine to Bibliobetty Reviews and thank you for taking the time to answer some questions.

1.  What inspired you to write nine days?

My own love for Novenas inspired me to write Nine Days.   I find them calming and reassuring.  I am always amazed at their power. This is a subject that I’ve talked often about with my friends.  Because I firmly believe in the power of prayer I decided to write about a fictional character who had some of the same experiences that I have had. 

 

2. Who are your three (or four or five) favorite authors? Is your own writing influenced by who you read?

Lately, I have been reading a lot of Gary Jansen.  I just love his book Holy Ghosts.  I also really like his book, The Rosary, A Journey to the Beloved.  Because praying the Rosary is another one of my pastimes, this was an especially good read for me. I’ve also read a lot of Anne Tyler lately.  I just finished The Beginners Goodbye and loved it.  Anna Quindlen is another favorite author and Jodi Picoult always holds my interest. 

I would definitely say that my writing is influenced by who I read in the way that good writing inspires me.  I’ve more than once come to the end of a novel and have said to myself “I wish I would have written that”.  But I think that’s where the influence ends.  I like to hope that when I write that my voice is unique to me.

 

3. What is your morning routine?

My morning routine is pretty typical of a wife and a mom of three. I run from the time I get up taking my youngest to school and my older two to where they need to be.  I do laundry, figure out what to make for dinner and try to keep the house somewhat in order.  If someone were to take a peek into my life and tag along on my morning routine, they may not find it interesting but I bet they sure would find it typical of a million other women out there.

4. What was the last book you finished reading?

The last book I read was Gary Jansen’s Holy Ghost’s.  Like I said, a really good read.  I highly recommend it.

5. What is your favorite movie?

I can’t say that I have  one specific favorite movie.  I really enjoy The Hallmark Channel.  I like feel good movies.  So whatever I am watching at the time.

 

6. Do you have time for any hobbies and if so what are they?

I don’t have a lot of time for hobbies.  But I do enjoy cooking for my family who are thankfully easy to please.  I enjoy reading of course.  I also, dabble in photography.

 

7. Just for fun, some this or that questions:

Tea or Coffee? Tea for sure, hot or cold I love tea anyway.

Call or text? Texting is nice but nothing replaces hearing someone’s voice, especially if it’s one of my kids.

Sneakers or sandals?  Sandals.  I love them!

Apples or Oranges? Oranges.

Cats or Dogs? I’ve known more dogs so I guess dogs would have to be my pick.  Even though, I’ve recently fallen in love with my neighbor’s cat.

Spring or Summer? Summer.  The hotter the better!

 

8. What is your favorite meal?

I love a great big steak with broccoli and baked potato with all of the fixings.

9.  Are you planning on writing any more books?

I’m constantly writing in my head.  Putting it down on paper is another thing.  But yes, I believe I will write more.  Right now I’m still waiting for an idea to really grab me.  When I stumble upon an idea that I  can’t get it out of my head, I’ll  know that I have found my next book.

 

10. What was the time frame for writing Nine Days?

Nine Days took about a year to write.  I didn’t  have  a firm time frame in mind.  You just know when you’ve done your best and the project is complete.

11. How did you come up with the title for your book?

I would love to take credit for the title Nine Days but to be honest it was suggested to me by a friend.  I loved it and decided to go with it.

12. How much of yourself is in the character of Mary Grace?

I probably put a lot more of myself into the character of Mary Grace than I ever really intended.   We both have had our share of adversity even though in different forms. We both come from strong, loving families.   We both searched for faith and found it.  I think it’s only natural to inadvertently draw from yourself.

13. What was the hardest part about writing your book?

The most difficult part about writing Nine Days was weaving in Ed as Mary Grace’s love interest.  In the original rough draft of the book, Ed didn’t even exist.  The character of Ed came later when I realized that something was missing.  Now, I can’t imagine the book being complete without him.

2 thoughts on “Christine Pisera Naman – Author of Nine Days

Leave a Reply

