Sacred Choices – Book Review

21814556

Sacred Choices
Author: Karen Hulene Bartell
Published: Pen-L Publishing, April 9, 2014
266 Pages
Kindle, Paperback
Spirituality, Paranormal

♥♥♥½

 

Description from Amazon:

An inspirational love story centered on self-growth, Sacred Choices weaves together the lives of three resilient women. Ceren is a newly-married and pregnant professor who learns her husband is a bigamist who urges abortion. Judith, Ceren’s colleague – an older, more worldly professor and pro-choice advocate – provides counsel based on her experiences. Judith’s sister Pastora, a nun, provides the voice of reason. Written for, by, and about women who have had or are considering abortions, Sacred Choices is Ceren’s journey – from her positive pregnancy test, through her decision whether or not to have an abortion – to an uncanny conclusion

My thoughts:

Parts of Sacred Choices by Karen Hulene Bartell were interesting and parts of it were dull. I also thought part of the book was predictable. Yet the parts that weren’t predictable were full of interesting twists and turns. I have to say I found myself skimming over the Aztec history because I got lost in it. I also had trouble throughout the book on whether or not I was pronouncing Ceren’s name correctly, which is why I don’t read  a lot of fantasy and science fiction. That definitely was a distraction.

There were some good points about the book. I did enjoy the sections on Mexican culture. I also loved the descriptions of the art and the Mexican environment.The writing was very good. The characterization was good. I loved the character of Judith and how she grew. She was my favorite character. I didn’t like her at first, but as she developed, I started to like her more and more. The author did a good job of making Jarek a jerk. I really couldn’t stand the guy. And I liked Sister Pastora. I’m still debating on what I thought about Ceren. The delicate parts dealing with abortion were also very good and done in good taste. The dialogue was great. I could really hear these people speaking.

There is also an element of the supernatural embedded in the book and there is a lot of Catholic doctrine. This would be a great book for people into Catholicism, angelic apparitions and ancient Aztec history. It would also be a good book to give to someone considering an abortion (if they would receive it).

I was given this book by the author in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.

About the author

9d6e5361bd850a900484f3.L._V340459288_SX200_

Born to rolling-stone parents who moved annually, Dr. Karen Hulene Bartell found her earliest playmates as fictional friends in books. Paperbacks became her portable pals. Ghost stories kept her up at night—reading feverishly. The paranormal was her passion. Wanderlust inherent, she enjoyed traveling, although loathed changing schools. Novels offered an imaginative escape. An only child, she began writing her first novel at the age of nine, learning the joy of creating her own happy endings.

Karen Hulene Bartell resides in the Hill Country with her husband Peter and her mews—three, soon-to-be four, rescued cats.

You can learn more about Karen by visiting her many websites: 

Web site: www.karenhulenebartell.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KarenHuleneBartell

Twitter: https://twitter.com/KarenHuleneBart

 Goodreads Author Page: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/611950.Karen_Hulene_Bartell

OTHER BOOKS BY KAREN HULENE BARTELL
Fine Filipino Food, 2003
American Business English, 1995
The Best of Taiwanese Cuisine, 2001
The Best of Korean Cuisine, 2002
The Best of Polish Cooking, Recipes for Entertaining and Special Occasions, 1991
Sovereignty of the Dragons, 1999

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

