Blog Tour and Give Away – Heart’s Song

Heart Song

Please join Desiree Williams as she tours the blogosphere with Heart’s Song! We are so fortunate to have Desiree with us today to answer some questions about her life and writing. You can also read the book review and enter the giveaway for a chance to win an Origami Owl necklace with charms, $10 Amazon gift cart and $10 itunes gift card!

Heart Song book review

Heart Song Giveaway – a Rafflecopter giveaway

hs-giveaway

Author’s Questions and Answers

1. What inspired you to write Heart Song?

When I set out to create Heart Song, I wanted to deliver a story that had meaning behind it. A story where the reader would not only feel the love, but the hope and encouragement behind the words. A tale where pure, genuine, heart-felt love conquers all. A love that ignites the kind of hope that overcomes the evil pounding at the door.

2. Who are your three (or four or five) favorite authors? Is your own writing influenced by who you read?

The two first self-published authors that I read were Chanda Hahn and Quinn Loftis. Reading their work got my mind to thinking, “Hey if they can do this, then why couldn’t I?” Then it was the lovely Heather Hildenbrand that drove my ‘big launch’. It was through her encouragement and support that I broke out of my shell.

3. What is your morning routine?

Most mornings I’m growling, grumbling, and rolling out of bed at 4:30am to go to my part-time job, carrying LOTS of coffee with me. Once that’s out of the way, I head home, do a devotion, scarf some food, and then crank out some book work.

4. What was the last book you finished reading?

Silver Siren by Chanda Hahn. And may I say, LOVED it!

5. What is your favorite movie?

   I’m a kid at heart and I love Disney movies. The Little Mermaid is one of my top favs.

6. Do you have time for any hobbies and if so what are they?

Reading tends to be the hobby that sticks. I like to do arts & crafts type projects (love making things) but I can’t get inspired to start a project. Usually I crash someone else’s craft making party or the kids craft sessions at church. =)

7. Just for fun, some this or that questions:

Tea or Coffee?                Coffee

Call or text?                Text

Sneakers or sandals?                Sandals! Love warm weather.

Apples or Oranges?                Apples. Green ones with caramel sauce – yum!

Cats or Dogs?                Dogs, hands down. So not a cat person.

Spring or Summer?                Spring. I love the bright colors, and warm days without the sweltering heat of summer.

Introvert or Extrovert?        Weird combo of the two. I get crazy shy at times (especially in social settings) and tend to be a wallflower. However, if you need someone to race office chairs with down a hall, I’m SO your gal.

8. What is your favorite meal?

Love Chinese food!

9.  The character of Alanna is so strong yet very sensitive. Was her character inspired my anyone?

Actually, Alanna was inspired by a collection of individuals. I work with so many lovely ladies (young and old alike), and watching how they faced different trials helped me determine who I wanted Alanna to be.

10. What was the time frame for writing Heart Song?

Heart Song was a 6 month writing project for me. At the time I was working full time and was squeezing in writing between my other responsibilities.

11. Will there be any new characters introduced in the second book of the Heart Song trilogy?

Oh, I’m getting so bubbly about book two! In book two, Shifter’s Heart, we’ll see more of Laelynn and Dustan’s relationship. Also, we’ll see more interaction with the Shifters, as well as more players in Alanna’s army.

12. What was the hardest part about writing your book?

That my fingers don’t type at the speed of my brain. =) Thoughts fly around up there like crazy and my fingers can only go so fast.

13.  Do you have a favorite bible verse?

I have so many! I also work in our church (pastor’s wife, Sunday school teacher, and children’s church director) so there are several scriptures that I’ve come across that’ve tug at my heart strings. One that’s been pressed on me lately is Romans 5: 3-5, “And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience; And patience, experience; and experience, hope; And hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.”(KJV).There are so many trials that we face in life, but in the end, no matter what we face, we have hope and the love of God. =)

14.  Thanks so very much, Desiree, for taking the time to answer our questions. Is there anything else you would like to tell the readers?

First, thank you so much for your time! I’ve enjoyed myself and so honored to be here on your blog. =)

Second, for the readers. Thank you for being YOU! Not you as a reader, but you as a person. You rock, and don’t EVER let anyone tell you differently. =)

Author Bio

desiree

Desiree Williams is a dreamer by day and chocoholic by night. She lives in the beautiful state of Kentucky with her husband and daughter, where she juggles life as a wannabe supermom. Desiree is a lover of food and avoider of dirty dishes. She delights in making people laugh and strives to bring hope and love with her wherever she goes.

You can find out more about Desiree and her books at www.desireewilliamsbooks.blogspot.com

Author Links

Blog/ Facebook/ Twitter/ Goodreads/ Newsletter

 

Leave a Reply

