The Young World – Book Review

the young world

The Young World
Author: Chris Weitz
Publication: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, July 29, 2014
384 pages
Apocalyptic
Content: This books contain graphic violence, nudity, foul language, cannibalism and suicide.

♥♥

Description from Goodreads:

After a mysterious Sickness wipes out the rest of the population, the young survivors assemble into tightly run tribes. Jefferson, the reluctant leader of the Washington Square tribe, and Donna, the girl he’s secretly in love with, have carved out a precarious existence among the chaos. But when another tribe member discovers a clue that may hold the cure to the Sickness, five teens set out on a life-altering road trip to save humankind.

The tribe exchanges gunfire with enemy gangs, escapes cults and militias, braves the wilds of the subway and Central Park…and discovers truths they could never have imagined

My thoughts:

I love NetGalley and appreciate all the great reading experiences they have provided. When I
request a book and they accept, I feel obligated to give a review even if I don’t like the book. If I owned the book and didn’t like it I just wouldn’t give it a review. But in the case of The Young World by Chris Weitz, since it’s from NetGalley, I need to say something.

I love the apocalyptic genre. This one interested me because it takes place in New York City. It includes an interesting descriptions of the New York Library and the Metropolitan Museum. However that’s about all the positive things I have to say.

What really disturbs me about this book is that the publishers appears to be marketing it to teens although it depicts violence, foul language, suicide, cannibalism and nudity. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want my granddaughters and grandsons exposed to such dreadful topics at a time when they could be reading more uplifting and encouraging books like Why We Broke Up and Roomies also published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, or for the apocalyptic there is Life As We Knew It, Aberrant, and Night Light.

There was nothing rewarding about the storyline in The Young World. The characters were predictable and it sometimes felt the plot wasn’t thought out before writing but the author just improvised as he wrote.

On the bright side, there was a lot of action and could easily be developed into a movie script. I wonder if that was on the author’s mind all along. If so, the movie should be rated R.

I received a copy of this book from  Little, Brown Books for Young Readers through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

