Praying the Prayers of the Bible – Book Review

praying the prayers

Praying the Prayers of the Bible
Author:  Dr. James Banks
Publication: Discovery House Publishers, April, 2013
240 pages
Kindle, Paperback
Christian – Prayer

♥♥♥♥

Description from Amazon:

Using the prayers of the Bible, encouraging reflections, and prayer starters, author James Banks helps you engage in intimate conversations with God. In Praying the Prayers of the Bible, you’ll find prayers of praise and thanksgiving, prayers for wisdom and direction, prayers for blessing, and much more. This powerful collection of prayers can help you strengthen and deepen your relationship with God, experience a closer walk with Him, and apply His Word to your everyday life.

My thoughts:

I really hated to finish this one because it was so full of God’s nuggets. The book is separated
into themes, then it offers prayers from scripture related to the themes. It encourages you to pray
just as if you are talking to God, which is exactly what you are doing. I highlighted important
ones to me and then I’m going to look them up in my bible and highlight them there too.  I also think
I’ll copy some on note cards and stick them in my purse.

Another reason I love this book so much is that it addresses praise. I often feel like I don’t have
the right words to say when I praise Him and this book gives examples and helps you get into the
right spirit.

The copy that I read didn’t have a table of contents. It would make it so much more accessable if
it had one.

Praying the Prayers of the Bible is one of the most encouraging Bible resources I have read. I
highly recommend it. Love the cover, too.

This book was given to me by Discovery House Publishers through NetGalley in exchange for an honest and fair review.

 

Meet the Author:

James Banks

 

Dr. James Banks is a best-selling author and speaker best known for his work helping others learn how to pray. He and his wife Cari have been married over 28 years and have two adult children. They make their home in Durham, North Carolina, where James serves as a pastor, church-planter and part-time seminary professor.  James is also the author of several magazine articles on prayer and outreach and is a regular guest on radio and television.

Website / Facebook

Leave a Reply

