Blood of a Stone by Jeanne Lyet Gassman

bloodofastone

Blood of a Stone
Author – Jeanne Lyet Gassman
Tuscany Press, March 17, 2015
333 pages
Historical Fiction, Christian Fiction

♥♥♥♥

Description from Goodreads:

Set in the first century on the edges of the Roman Empire and the Jesus movement, Blood of a Stone is a sweeping story of murder, betrayal, love, and the search for redemption.

Faced with the brutality of slavery, Demetrios confronts his master and flees by the blood of a stone. Determined to escape his past, he struggles to create a new life and a new identity with his friend and fellow escaped slave, Elazar.

However, freedom has its price. Secrets cannot remain secret forever. A chance for love is lost. Elazar betrays Demetrios to a so-called prophet named Jesus of Nazareth. Fearing the Roman authorities and Jesus, Demetrios risks everything to silence those who would enslave him again. His quest leads him to startling discoveries and dire choices. Demetrios must answer the question we all ask: Can we ever be free of our past?

My thoughts:

I usually prefer my protagonists to be female but the words at the beginning of the story
were so well crafted and descriptive that I continued reading until I was hooked. About 80%
of the book was well paced. I enjoyed this period of history which takes place in ancient Judea
during the time of Christ.

However while I mostly enjoyed the characters, especially the character of Demetrios, I did
feel a couple of the characters were weak. I also sensed the writing at the end of the story
could have been more tidy and I did not care for the ending. Since the book is labeled as
Christian, I would have liked the it better if it could have concluded with the
resurrection instead of the crucifixion.

I received this book from Tuscany Press through Net Galley in exchange for my honest opinion.

About the Author:

Jeanne Lyet Gassman

Jeanne Lyet Gassman

Website / Goodreads / Facebook

Leave a Reply

