Hanover House by Brenda Novak

hanover house

Hanover House: Kickoff to the Hanover House Chronicles
Author: Brenda Novak
Publisher: Benda Novak, Inc.
234 pages
Thriller
Content: Some violence and adult language

Kindle, Paperback

♥♥♥♥

 

From Goodreads:

Welcome to Hanover House….

Psychiatrist Evelyn Talbot has dedicated her life to solving the mysteries of the psychopathic mind. Why do psychopaths act as they do? How do they come to be? Why don’t they feel any remorse for the suffering they cause? And are there better ways of spotting and stopping them?

After having been kidnapped, tortured and left for dead when she was just a teenager—by her high school boyfriend—she’s determined to understand how someone she trusted so much could turn on her. So she’s established a revolutionary new medical health center in the remote town of Hilltop, Alaska, where she studies the worst of the worst.

But not everyone in Hilltop is excited to have Hanover House and its many serial killers in the area. Alaskan State Trooper, Sergeant Amarok, is one of them. And yet he can’t help feeling bad about what Evelyn has been through. He’s even attracted to her. Which is partly why he worries.

He knows what could happen if only one little thing goes wrong…

My thoughts:

This prequel isn’t my usual genre of books I review although while I worked as a librarian it was my favorite one. I needed something a little more edgy and this fit the bill. Plus most of it takes place in Alaska – one of my favorite settings. It’s filled with lots of action and suspense. In fact I have found a new author that I’d like to read more books from. I think fans of Val McDermid will enjoy this new series by Brenda Novak. I am highly anticipating the first book of this new series, Her Darkest Night, coming in September 2016.

An electronic copy of this book was given to my through Netgalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

About the Author:

brenda novak

Brenda Novak

Website / Facebook / Goodreads / Wikipedia

Leave a Reply

